China to Set Up Pilot Markets for Energy Permit Trading

21 September 2016 – On September 21st, China’s NRDC picked four provinces – Fujian, Zhejiang, Henan and Sichuan – to host pilot energy permit trading schemes, which will be launched next year. The objectives and principles listed in the NDRC statement suggested the process ahead is likely to be very similar to the development of China’s seven pilot carbon markets and subsequent transformation to a national ETS.