中国碳排放交易体系

中国碳排放交易体系

地图

碳排放交易概况

排放交易是一类基于市场的政策工具以减少或控制危害气候的气体排放。排放交易的基本原理是 “总量-交易”。总量指定了所有参与实体(公司或者设施)允许排放的总量上限,例如:排放配额的总和,即一个履约期结束的时候,每排放一吨需要上缴一个排放配额。总量可以是绝对值和基于强度值。排放交易体系涵盖的实体将根据条例规定获得免费配额或者拍卖配额,或者两者结合的方式。

配额是可交易的,配额总量是由相关主管部门设定,配额价格通过市场机制形成。由此创造灵活性,供业主选择在哪方面采取什么措施进行必要减排,确保以最经济的方式达到减排。同时也为激励业主投资环境友好型技术创造机会和促进低碳经济转型做贡献。为确保碳排放交易体系环境的完整性和合规性,健全的排放监测、报告和核查制度、交易平台、注册登记系统和履约机制是必不可少的。

碳排放交易体系实践

为达成气候减排目标,欧盟2005年引入碳排放交易并成为第一个主要碳市场。自此,碳排放交易开始逐渐扩张,并在亚洲、太平洋和北美的一些区域运行良好。

随着中国全国碳市场的启动,被纳入碳排放交易体系的行政管辖区域(指国家级,省级和市级的行政管辖区域)占全球国内生产总值50%以上,每个大洲都有一些国家渴望通过开展碳排放交易做为气候减排的政策工具。

中国碳排放交易体系试点

2011年中国政府宣布建立七个试点碳市场。当时,中国已经从六年的清洁发展机制(CDM)经验中受益,熟悉基于市场机制达到减排目的。试点于2013年和2014年开始运行,5个市和2个省分别位于北京市、上海市、天津市、重庆市、深圳市、广东省和湖北省。2016年,第八个试点福建省碳市场启动。

每个试点根据本地情况和各自的经济状况拥有各自独特的市场设计。施行试点碳市场的目的在于鼓励各城市和省份采用不同的设计方案和探索最佳实践。各试点碳市场分别在纳入范围、配额分配方法、MRV制度和价格水平方面有所不同。每个试点的不同设计特征可以从上面的互动式地图中点击获取详细介绍。
试点碳市场为全国碳市场的建立和实施提供经验借鉴,而试点最终将统一被纳入全国碳市场。

中国全国碳排放交易体系

基于区域碳试点实施的成功经验,2017年底,中国政府宣布启动全国碳市场。启动全国碳市场是中国最高政治领导2015年已经设定的目标,并在巴黎协定的国家自主贡献中再次重申,以及在十三五温室气体排放控制工作计划中提出。

根据官方发布的《全国碳排放权交易市场建设方案(发电行业)》中提出,全国碳市场建设分三步逐渐展开。以发电行业为突破口,市场成熟后逐渐扩大行业范围,包括化学、钢铁、建筑材料、石化、造纸、有色金属和民航。/p>

第一阶段,将着重完善法律基础、建立制度安排和基础设施建设,如:监测、报告和核查制度、湖北的注册登记系统和上海的交易平台;

第二阶段,将进行发电行业模拟交易。经过该阶段的经验累积,该体系的在设计和功能上将被完善;

第三阶段,发电行业的配额现货交易将被引进,交易范围扩大,交易品类多元化。

ETS in China

Emission Trading Schemes in China

China ETS Map

ETS Basics

Emission trading is a market-based instrument to reduce or control the emission of climate-damaging gases. An Emission Trading System (ETS) works on the principle of cap and trade. The cap specifies how much all participating entities (companies or installations) combined are allowed to emit, i.e. the sum of all emissions allowances. For every ton of emissions they emit, they must surrender one emission allowance by the end of a compliance cycle. The cap can be absolute as well as intensity-based. Entities covered by the ETS receive allowances according to fixed rules, which can be through free allocation or auctioning, or some combination of the two.

Allowances are tradable and while the cap is set by the relevant authority, the price of each allowance is determined by the market. This creates flexibility where and how abatement is necessary and thus ensures that emission reduction occurs in the most cost-effective manner. It also makes it creates an incentive for companies to invest in environmentally friendly technology and thereby contributes to a low-carbon transformation of the economy. In order to ensure environmental integrity and compliance, an ETS requires a robust system for monitoring, reporting and verification (MRV) of emissions, trading platforms, registries and enforcement mechanisms.

ETS in practice

The European Union introduced emission trading in 2005 to achieve its climate goal and is thereby the first major carbon market. Since then, ETS has gradually expanded and there are now functioning systems in place in Asia, the Pacific and North America.

With the launch of the Chinese national ETS, jurisdictions covered by an ETS account for over 50% of global GDP. (The jurisdictions include systems on the national, subnational and city-level.) There are several other countries around the world on every continent eager to explore ETS as a climate policy instrument.

China's ETS Pilots

The Chinese government announced the establishment of seven regional pilot ETS in 2011. At that time, China could already benefit from six years of experience from the Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) through which it became familiar with the market-based mechanism to reduce emissions. The pilots started operation in 2013 and 2014 and are located in five cities, namely Beijing, Shanghai, Tianjin, Chongqing and Shenzhen, and the two provinces of Guangdong and Hubei. In 2016, an eighth pilot ETS was launched in the province of Fujian.

Each pilot has its own unique design that takes into account local circumstances and the respective economic profile. The purpose of the pilot ETS practice was to encourage the cities and provinces to test different design options and explore best practices. The pilot ETS differ in regards to the scope, allocation methods, MRV provisions and price levels among others. Detailed information on the different design features of each pilot can be retrieved from the interactive map above. The experiences from the pilot ETS informed the establishment and implementation of the national ETS and the pilots themselves will eventually be merged into the national ETS.

China's National ETS

Building on the successful implementation of pilot ETS at the regional level, China announced the launch of its national ETS in December 2017. This launch has been a goal set in 2015 at China’s highest political level, which was reaffirmed by its Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) under the Paris Agreement, and the “13th Five-Year Work Plan for Greenhouse Gas Emission Control.”

According to the “Work Plan for Construction of the National ETS (Power Generation Sector)” that was published with the official launch, the national ETS will be introduced gradually in three phases. Starting with the power sector, the scope shall be expanded to further sectors at a later stage, namely chemical industry, iron and steel, building materials, petrochemical industry, paper making, non-ferrous metals and civil aviation.

The first phase will focus on the completion of the legal foundation, establishment of institutional arrangements and the building of the basic infrastructure such as MRV, the registry in Hubei and the trading platform in Shanghai.

This will be followed by simulation trading for the power sector in the second phase. Through the experience gathered in this stage, the system shall be improved in terms of design and functionality.
In the final step, spot trading of allowances in the power sector shall be introduced, the coverage expanded and trading products diversified.

Featured Video

This video by the German Emissions Trading Authority (DEHSt) at the German Environment Agency (Umweltbundesamt) explains how the ETS works in practice.

ETS in practice: A short introduction

Climate change can be felt already. The consequences of global warming include ever new heat records, heavy rains, and floods.

In order to protect the climate by reducing GHG emissions, the European Union introduced an ETS in 2005. The ETS is a market mechanism that creates incentives for companies to burn less coal and gas and thus reduce their climate-damaging emissions by setting a cap for emissions and providing tradable allowances.

Since 2013, China has introduced pilot ETS in Beijing, Shanghai, Tianjin, Chongqing, and Shenzhen, as well as in Guangdong, Hubei and Fujian province. China’s national ETS will become the largest system in the world.

This video by the German Emissions Trading Authority (DEHSt) at the German Environment Agency (Umweltbundesamt) explains how the ETS works in practice.